BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

RESOLUTION 2024 -

WHEREAS, by 1776, nearly 300,000 natives of Ireland had emigrated to the colonies that would become the United States, to escape the blight of famine or the burden of circumstance, and they never gave up on one of the oldest ideas: that anyone from anywhere can write the next chapter in American story; and

WHEREAS, at least five signers of the Declaration of Independence were of Irish origin, three were Irish born, and twenty-two presidents of the United States have proudly proclaimed their Irish American heritage; and

WHEREAS, in 1792, Irish-born James Hoban provided the architectural plans for the White House and served as one of the supervising architects during the construction of the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, in 1813, Captain Oliver Perry, an Irish American, achieved a major naval victory at the Battle of Lake Erie during the War of 1812; and

WHEREAS, in 1942, the Sullivan brothers made the ultimate sacrifice for democracy and freedom during the Naval Battle of Guadalcanal, and the Destroyer *USS The Sullivans* was later commissioned in their memory; and

WHEREAS, since America's inception, Irish Americans have provided leadership and service to our nation's political, business, and religious establishments; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper to celebrate the rich cultural heritage of Irish Americans and the valuable contributions they have made.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaims March 2024 as **IRISH AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH** in Hernando County.

SECTION 2. The Board of County Commissioners hereby encourages all its citizens to join with the Ancient Order of Hibernians of Hernando County in celebration and support of **IRISH AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH** with appropriate ceremonies, activities, and programs.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 27th day of February 2024, A.D.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

Attest:

an

Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr. Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller Elizabeth Narverud Chairperson

John Allocco Commissioner Brian Hawkins Vice Chairman

Ionmy Comphall

Steve Champion Commissioner Jerry Campbell Second Vice Chairman