BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

RESOLUTION 2025 -

WHEREAS, the Florida Constitution first established the Clerk of Circuit Court position as an elected public trustee on February 2, 1838; and

WHEREAS, the Clerk is not only Clerk of the Circuit Court, but also the County Treasurer, Recorder, Auditor, Chief Finance Officer, and Ex-Officio Clerk of the County Commission and as such, performs a wide range of record keeping, information management, and financial management for the judicial system and county government; and

WHEREAS, the Clerk's Office is often the first point of contact for many of our citizens and plays a vital role in the daily operations of County government and the judicial system; and

WHEREAS, the Clerk's Office is a most valuable asset to the citizens and legal community, working side-by-side with the judiciary to ensure court proceedings run smoothly, all necessary information is provided, and the record is accurately maintained; and

WHEREAS, the Clerk's Office is tasked with safeguarding the money and records of both court and County government and has earned the respect of the general public for their dedication and contributions to people's lives and for working together to ensure delivery of more efficient and effective services.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaims February 2, 2025, as **CLERK APPRECIATION DAY** in Hernando County.

SECTION 2. The Board of County Commissioners encourages all citizens to recognize the Clerk's Office for the significant impact it has made and continues to make as a critical part of the legal system and County government that both protects and preserves all rights under the law.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 28th day of January 2025, A.D.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

| Attest: | | |
|---|--------------------------------------|--|
| Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr. Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller | Brian Hawkins Chairman | |
| Steve Champion Commissioner | Jerry Campbell Vice Chairman | |
| Ryan Amsler Commissioner | John Allocco Second Vice Chairman | |