BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

RESOLUTION 2025 -

WHEREAS, no group of Americans has a more difficult or less publicly visible job than the brave men and women who work in our correctional facilities; and

WHEREAS, corrections officers help to maintain the public safety by preserving order in our jails and prisons; and

WHEREAS, corrections officers must protect inmates from violence from fellow prisoners, while encouraging them to develop skills and attitudes that can help them become productive members of society after their release; and

WHEREAS, being a corrections officer requires careful and constant vigilance with the threat of violence always present; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate that we honor our corrections officers for their invaluable contributions to our society; and

WHEREAS, it is also appropriate to recognize that civilian correctional employees play a vital role in the working operations of correctional facilities and that Correctional Nurses, Technicians, Secretaries, Clerks, and Control Room Operators assist security staff in maintaining a sound correctional environment; and

WHEREAS, the Chief Correctional Officer for Hernando County is the Sheriff, who oversees the Hernando County Detention Center with staff of Detention Deputies, Support Staff and Medical Personnel.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaim the week of May 4 - 10, 2025, as NATIONAL CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS' AND EMPLOYEES' WEEK in Hernando County.

SECTION 2. The Board of County Commissioners hereby urges its citizens to offer correctional officers and correctional employees' due recognition and respect for their vigilance and courage.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 22nd day of April 2025, A.D.

Attest:	HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA
Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr.	Brian Hawkins
Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller	Chairman
Steve Champion	Jerry Campbell
Commissioner	Vice Chairman
Ryan Amsler	John Allocco
Commissioner	Second Vice Chairman