## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

## **RESOLUTION 2025 -**

**WHEREAS**, emergencies can occur at any time that require police, fire, or emergency medical services; and

**WHEREAS**, when an emergency occurs the prompt response of police officers, firefighters and paramedics is critical to the protection of life and preservation of property; and

**WHEREAS**, the safety of our police officers and firefighters is dependent upon the quality and accuracy of information obtained from citizens who telephone the Hernando County emergency communications center; and

WHEREAS, PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS are the first and most critical contact our citizens have with emergency services; and

WHEREAS, PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS are the single vital link for our police officers and firefighters by monitoring their activities by radio, providing them information, and ensuring their safety; and

**WHEREAS, PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS** of the Hernando County have contributed substantially to the apprehension of criminals, suppression of fires and treatment of patients; and

**WHEREAS**, each dispatcher has exhibited compassion, understanding and professionalism during the performance of their job in the past year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaim April 13-19, 2025 as NATIONAL PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS WEEK in Hernando County.

**SECTION 2.** The Board of County Commissioners recognizes and honors our public safety telecommunications personnel providing emergency and non-emergency communications for the Hernando County Sheriff's Office, Hernando County Fire and Emergency Services, Brooksville Fire Department, and many other City and County Departments. Their daily contributions are vital to the safety and wellbeing of our citizens and the public safety organizations they serve.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 8th day of April 2025, A.D.

Attest:	HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA
Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr.	Brian Hawkins
Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller	Chairman
Steve Champion	Jerry Campbell
Commissioner	Vice Chairman
Ryan Amsler	John Allocco
Commissioner	Second Vice Chairman