BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS



20 NORTH MAIN STREET • ROOM 263 • BROOKSVILLE, FLORIDA 34601 P 352.754.4002 • F 352.754.4477 • W www.HernandoCounty.us

February 25, 2025

Mr. Thomas G Dury 4383 Mount Pleasant Ave Spring Hill, FL 34609

Dear Mr. Dury:

I am pleased to advise you that at the Hernando County Board of County Commissioners' meeting held today, the Board appointed you to serve as a member on the Hernando County Economic Development Technical Advisory Committee, effective until December 31, 2029. Enclosed is your Certificate of Appointment.

Members are subject to Florida's Government in the Sunshine Law, s. 286.011, F.S., commonly referred to as the Sunshine Law. The Sunshine Law provides a right of access to governmental proceedings of public boards or commissions at both the state and local levels. The law is equally applicable to elected and appointed boards and applies to any gathering of two or more members of the same board to discuss some matter which will foreseeably come before that board for action. Members-elect to such boards or commissions are also subject to the Sunshine Law, even though they have not yet taken office.

There are three basic requirements of s. 286.011, F.S.:

- (1) meetings of public boards or commissions must be open to the public;
- (2) reasonable notice of such meetings must be given; and
- (3) minutes of the meetings must be taken and promptly recorded.

For a free digital copy of the Sunshine Manual, please visit www.myfloridalegal.com/sun.nsf/sunmanual. If you ever have any specific questions or concerns, please feel free to contact the Hernando County Attorney's Office at (352) 754-4122.

Should you have any questions regarding your membership on the Economic Development Technical Advisory Committee, please contact Valerie Pianta, Economic Development Director, at (352) 540-6400.

On behalf of the Board of County Commissioners, I would like to thank you for your desire to be of service to Hernando County. We appreciate your time and effort.

Sincerely

Brian Hawkins, Chairman Board of County Commissioners Hernando County, Florida

Enclosure

