## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

## **RESOLUTION 2025 -**

WHEREAS, substance misuse is a major societal problem throughout the country; and

WHEREAS, The National Association of Drug Court Professionals now known as AllRise has proclaimed May as NATIONAL TREATMENT COURT MONTH; and

**WHEREAS,** the first drug court was established in Miami, Florida, in 1989 and has served as model for 183 problem-solving court currently operational in Florida and more than 4,000 problem-solving courts currently operating throughout the United States; and

WHEREAS, Hernando County Treatment Courts, from inception on October 1, 2001, have provided services and made substance use treatment available to three hundred and twenty-four (324) adult citizens of Hernando County; and

WHEREAS, Treatment Courts provides the focus and leadership for community-wide, anti-drug systems, bringing together criminal justice, treatment programs, education, and other community partners in the fight against substance use and criminality; and

WHEREAS, Treatment Court programs combine intensive judicial supervision, mandatory substance use treatment, accountability, drug testing and escalating sanctions and incentives to break the cycle of substance use disorders and its associated crimes.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

**SECTION 1.** The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaim May 2025 as **NATIONAL TREATMENT COURT MONTH** in Hernando County.

**SECTION 2.** The Board of County Commissioners hereby urges all citizens to recognize the practitioners and participants who make Drug courts work and the significant contributions that Drug Courts have made and continue to make in reducing drug use and crime.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 13th day of May 2025, A.D.

## **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA**

Attest:

Ma

Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr. Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller

Chairman

Steve Champion Commissioner Jerry Campbell Vice Chairman

Brian Hawkins

Ryan Amsler Commissioner John Allocco Second Vice Chairman