BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

RESOLUTION 2024 -

WHEREAS, water is a basic and essential need of every living creature; and

WHEREAS, clean, safe, and sustainable water resources and supplies are vital to Hernando County's economy, environment, and its people; and

WHEREAS, the State of Florida, the Southwest Florida Water Management District and Hernando County are working together to increase awareness about the importance of water conservation and designates April as Water Conservation Month, typically a month when our water needs are most acute; and

WHEREAS, Hernando County urges every consumer to become more aware of the need to save water and to take appropriate measures to conserve and protect this vital natural resource; and

WHEREAS, Hernando County encourages and supports water conservation through educational programs, incentive programs and special events; and

WHEREAS, every business, industry, school, and citizen can make a difference in conserving our vital water resources; and

WHEREAS, each business, industry, school, and citizen can help by saving water and thus promote a healthy economy and community; and

WHEREAS, the support of April as Florida's WATER CONSERVATION MONTH reinforces conservation messages and efforts put forth by the Hernando County Board of County Commissioners.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaim April 2024 as **WATER CONSERVATION MONTH** in Hernando County.

SECTION 2. The Board of County Commissioners urges all of Hernando County's citizens to become more aware of the need to save our precious water supply and to take appropriate measures to conserve and protect water, our vital natural resource.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 26th day of March 2024, A.D.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

Attest:

Ma.

litialitie

Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr. Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller Elizabeth Narverud Chairperson

John Allocco Commissioner Brian Hawkins

Vice Chairman

Steve Champion Commissioner Jerry Campbell Second Vice Chairman