BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

mmiiii

RESOLUTION 2023 -

WHEREAS, the travel industry fuels every industry and is an essential part of Hernando County, Florida's economy, development and workforce; and

WHEREAS, travel is an economic powerhouse for every state and destination across the country, with an economic output of \$2.6 trillion in 2022, supporting 14.5 million American jobs; and

WHEREAS, travel spending supports vibrant and safe communities in Hernando County, Florida and across the United States by generating \$84 billion in state and local tax revenues to support essential services, such as education, emergency response, public safety and more; and

WHEREAS, tourism generated \$231.8 million in visitor spending in Hernando County in FY 2021, supporting 4,479 jobs and paying \$39 million in wages; and

WHEREAS, tourism generating \$265.4 million in total business spending and generated \$27.4 million in state and local taxes, and \$15.9 million federal taxes in FY 2021; and

WHEREA, the travel industry's success will continue to grow Hernando County's economy and workforce, since, prior to the pandemic, small businesses accounted for 60% of leisure and hospitality employment; and

WHEREAS, travel is an essential industry, and we must continue to communicate that growing travel leads to economic growth, benefits businesses and fosters mutual understanding.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HERNANDO COUNTY **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:**

SECTION 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby proclaim May 7-13, 2023 as NATIONAL TRAVEL AND TOURISM WEEK in Hernando County.

SECTION 2. The Board of County Commissioners hereby urges its citizens to join in this special observance with appropriate events and commemorations.

ADOPTED in Regular Session this 9th day of May 2023, A.D.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HERNANDO COUNTY, FLORIDA

Attest:

lititututu

(((()))

Maa

alla

lllillinn

Douglas A. Chorvat, Jr. Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller John Allocco Chairman

Jerry Campbell Commissioner

Elizabeth Narverud Vice Chairman

Brian Hawkins Commissioner

Steve Champion Second Vice Chairman